I Matter

It’s easy for me to see the value of my children’s lives. I see how much they are a blessing to me and everyone who knows them. I see how they brighten someone’s day. I think of how much they have taught me. I am a better person because of them. The world is a better place because of their short existence. I have no question about their worth and value.

They deserve to be loved and nurtured and listened to. They deserve to be loved unconditionally. They deserve to be treated with respect. They deserve to have some people in their lives who completely adore them and value them.

But I tend to forget that I matter too. I don’t always realize it when I brighten someone’s day. I don’t always see the value of the mundane housework and childcare tasks. I forget that every cry I respond to and every question I answer really matters. Being a mom matters. Just being me matters.

I deserve to be loved and nurtured and listened to. I deserve to be loved unconditionally. I deserve to be treated with respect. I deserve to have some people in my life who completely adore me and value me.

I matter too. And sometimes I forget that. Sometimes I feel like I’m replaceable and insignificant. Sometimes I feel like my value depends on how many people I reach or how much I accomplish in my life. The truth is…I have value apart from all that I do or don’t do. I add something to this world that no one else can offer.

I am important and valuable. I matter.

2 thoughts on “I Matter

Leave a Reply

