Trust

I trust my toddler when he says he is hungry or thirsty. I offer him something to eat or drink as soon as I can. I trust my toddler when he shows me he doesn’t want to sit still any longer and needs some exercise. I trust him when he seems tired or overwhelmed and wants to go home.

I trust him when he throws himself on the floor and cries. I believe him and acknowledge that he is upset. I trust that he is worth listening to.

I trust that his interests are valid and important. Although it may be boring to me, I trust him when he wants to spend hours on one activity. I trust that only he knows how he can learn best. Only he knows what he enjoys the most.

I trust that his words are important when he talks to me. I pay attention to every time he points out a bird or a car or a plane. I trust that if it is important to him, it should be important to me.

I’m teaching him that his words are worth hearing and his interests are worth having. I’m teaching him that he has great value. When I trust my toddler, I’m teaching him that he can trust himself.

Leave a Reply

