Are They All Yours?

“Are they all yours?” That can be an awkward and vague question especially if you have a blended family. Most would answer, “of course they are,” unless you happen to run a daycare or collect kids like your nephews, nieces, and friends’ kids. Then you might specify which ones are yours. But seriously, who wants to say, “oh, this is my STEP-daughter” or “these two are ADOPTED”. As if that makes them any less your children. It’s just a bad question.

But I have a new answer for that if I ever get asked. “None of them are mine.” These are God’s and I’m just a blessing from God in their lives like they are a blessing to me.

Let me clarify. I don’t have the right to treat them however I please. I have a mandate to help them become the best they can be. I have a mission to treat them as I would want to be treated and to lay down my life for them. I am not responsible for their choices. I am only responsible for mine. I am privileged to be their most influential shepherd for a short season and to be God’s hand in their lives.

My children are not my property or possession. They belong to God. Although they are of great value to me, they are of even greater value to Him. I must let go and trust in His great wisdom. I don’t know what will happen in the future. But I do know that He will guide my children and help them when I can’t. For they are His, and I am just His humble servant.

Instead of saying, “yes, they are ALL mine,” I would rather think of them as God’s kids entrusted to my care. They are not a burden or stress. They are a blessing. And I hope that God will help me become a great blessing to them.

I would like to end this post with a beautiful poem written by my husband’s grandmother about her two boys.

Letting Go

Written by C. Miller

For nine months I carried you,

I thought you were mine.

Through your young years,

I thought you were mine.

You began to speak and through your young voice

I heard the wisdom of the ages.

You were no longer mine.

God created you and allowed me to hold you for a time.

You brought me comfort and joy and love.

I no longer thought you were mine.

Heavenly Father, thank you for these two pleasures in my life.

Thank You for the opportunity to be a vessel.

It is my great pleasure to give up the illusion,

They are Yours.

One thought on “Are They All Yours?

Leave a Reply

